Mykhalo Made Me Do It!

If you had told me ten years ago that one day I would write a vampire novel, I would have laughed myself silly. That’s not what I write. I write fantasy stories, hero epics with a great bit of attention paid to magic, swordplay and horses. I certainly don’t write vampire stories!

And then I met Mykhalo.

I stopped laughing.

Now first let me clarify that Mykhalo is a fictional character. He exists nowhere but in my own overly active imagination.

Except that Mykhalo Von Ludwig is very real.

Both statements are absolutely true.

There was a time before he came into my life, a time when I was happy to write my fantasy novels and snicker at vampires and those who loved them. But then vampires never ask permission to be your friend or your lover. It just kind of happens. They rarely knock at the front door. They always either slide in the back door or through a window you forgot to latch. When you turn around, there they are smiling at you and you suddenly find yourself unable to kick them out. They are so sinister and yet so appealing that before you know it, you’ve become enchanted with them and you couldn’t get rid of them if you tried. They’ve already taken up residence in your mind and in your heart, moved all their dark things into your house and they are here for the long haul.

Lovely! Just what I always aspired to, living with a predator and loving it! How in the world did that happen to a sensible, strong-minded woman like myself?

But then again Mykhalo was never like any other vampire in any other story I’ve read or movie I’ve seen. He never wanted to be a vampire. He wanted to be the hero on the white horse, riding in to save the day. Instead he is the villain and he hates it.

And so I listened to his story. I learned to make coffee because Mykhalo really likes coffee. And I fell head over heels in love with the tormented guy. I guess I’m a sucker for any intelligent tall blonde man I run into that actually talks to me. I’d like to think of myself as better than that but there it is.

At least I still reflect! Even if that reflection is a little darker than I’m usually comfortable with staring at, it still exists. I’m still real.

What Mykhalo is I’m not quite certain. But he’s got a story to tell and you’re going to need a very comfy chair and a tall mug of some bracing drink to get through it. You might also want to read this in the daylight.

D. C. McLaughlin

2 Responses to “Mykhalo Made Me Do It!”

  1. cariadfreckles Says:

    ohhh… more pretty please 🙂 We are very much alike with our vampire protaganist 🙂

  2. If you like this, then you really need to read my prologue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

